So, What’s It All About?

Wow, another geek culture blog. Ho, hum. That's what, number twelve thousand?

Okay, maybe it's not quite that bad, but yes, there are a lot of them out here on the Internet. And that's a good thing. Thirty years ago, if you were a nerd or a geek, you had to hunt high and low to find your fellows. If you were a college student and very lucky, you had a gaming club on campus. I was an early (can't quite claim founding) member of the Rochester Wargamer's Association and Guild (RWAG) at Rochester Institute of Technology, back in 1984-85. I'm happy to see that they are still around three decades later. The same was true for comic book fans, science fiction/fantasy enthusiasts, and re-enactors. There have been groups around for these interests, but they were hard to find and, let's face it, most people thought we were a bit odd.

Now, things are different. We're everywhere. And why not? After all, some would say it was the geeks who brought us the World Wide Web and social media. Geek has gone mainstream, and you can see its effects everywhere from television and movies, to the clothing on the racks at the stores, from the explosion of cons to the naming of babies. Geek culture is going strong and apparently here to stay.

So, why another geek blog? Because everyone gets their geek on in a different way. My interests aren't necessarily the same as the geek next door. But there will be some commonality. My main interests are comic books (particularly DC comics, mostly up through the mid 1980's), role-playing games in the tradition of Dungeons and Dragons, medieval re-enactment, and science fiction/fantasy novels. Not to say I won’t talk about other topics, but those are my core interests. And like my medieval persona, I’m a bit of an anachronism. My interests lie in my youth: old comics, old-school gaming, and the classic stories. And that’s what I want to talk about here. More to the point, that’s what I want others to talk about here. I want this blog to be an open community for geeks to talk about their interests. I’ll be posting links to other blogs and articles that interest me, as well as pontificating on my interests. I hope you’ll join in.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar